Relativity 2023 Programme

Wed 1 – Sat 4 Feb

Book tickets here

Note from the Director

In a world in which each city runs to different laws of time and relativity, what becomes important to hold onto?
We have had an absolutely amazing time taking the worlds and ideas from Einstein’s Dreams, turning them on their end and using that as a starting point to create circus.
Relativity explores what it means to love, lose and live within a framework of a lonely scientist trying to make sense of the world.
Energy + motion = Emotion!
-Lydia Harper
Photographer : Greta Zabulyte


Relativity is an intertwining of circus and possibility.
Inspired by Alan Lightman’s novel, Einstein’s Dreams, it will calculate, imagine and search for different worlds, different moments and different dimensions that can be dreamt of in the realms of Einstein’s Theory of Relativity.
What would you give to hold onto a moment forever? How long does it take for your heart to break? How can a moment with a stranger influence our future?

Cast List

Alex Ansari      

Jack Brooke      

Phoebe Bryan

Christian Carr

Kitty Durban

Helga Ehrenbusch

Judit Feher

Madeleine Fuller

Ebony Gumbs

Adam Havsky

Laura Hogg

Ellen James

Georgina Lance

Harry Latham

Nora Linjawy

Ash Meyer

Kas Mulinge

Travis Rabarijaona

Becky Robins

Sophie Stinchon

Tess Stockwell

Niamh Taylor

Dilly Taylor

Michael Wagner

Erin Williams

Don’t miss your chance to see the next generation of circus artists. Book tickets to our Ensemble Performance Season today!

See past performances on YouTube.

Creative and Production List

Lydia Harper Director

Andie Scott Designer

Will Reynolds Lighting Designer

Liam Quinn Sound Designer

Katharine Arnold Producer

Tom Albu Production and Technical Manager

Martin Bristow Company Stage Manager

Honor Ramsdale Deputy Stage Manager

Sabrina Chen Assistant Stage Manager (placement)

Matt Burch Head Rigger

Sunni Jolly Deputy Technical Manager

Manley Gavich Assistant Director (placement)

India Lawrence Design Assistant (Intern)

Martha Harrison Teacher Support

Adrian Porter Head of Higher Education

With Special Thanks to...

White Light

Joe Garcia

Joe Sheppard

Leon Scott-Engel

James Engel and the Spaced Out Architecture team

And Flexitron Studios

Staff List

Higher Education Team

Adrian Porter  Head of Higher Education Delivery
Stevie Taylor  Head of Academic Administration
Martha Harrison Programme Strand Manager
Amy Welbourn  Programme Strand Manager
Michaela O’Connor Programme Strand Manager
Antigone Exton-White Student Support Manager
Joanna Young Admissions and Registry Manager
Adrianna Paniak  Higher Education Administration Officer

Staff Team

Alice Jackson Head of Learning and Access
Andrew Quinn Head of Front of house & Customer Service Assistant
Anna Duncan Access & Participation Manager
Anthony Lewis Buildings Maintenance Officer
Arran Peck Strength & Conditioning Coach
Carl Thorndike Data Manager
Dan Cowdrill Commercial Director
Dave Kennard Duty Manager
Eduardo Martinez Customer Service Assistant
Ella Tressler Customer Service Assistant
Emma Barrow Business Development Manager
Glen Stewart Director of Professional Development
Jade Leatham Recreational Services Manager
James McCambridge Teacher Education Manager
Kamila Krupczynska-Mieluch Finance Manager
Kate White Chief Executive
Lois Tucker Duty Manager
Lucy Fawthrop Commercial Support Officer (Recreational Services)
Matt Burch Head Rigger
Ness Heduan Buildings & Facilities Manager
Nic Farr Customer Service Assistant
Niki Lavithis Access & Participation Manager
Oliver Fox Trusts and Foundations Manager
Petra Lazarek Head of Commercial Events
Philip Nichols  Head of Marketing & Communications
Raffia Rahman Customer Service Assistant
Rio Hayles  Access & Participation Manager
Sanjay Dasani  Head of Buildings and Facilities
Sharon Harble Executive Assistant to CEO
Sithy Ismail Finance Administrator
Stefano Di Renzo Artist Development Manager
Sunni Jolly Deputy Technical Manager
Tabatha Gregg-Allured  Digital Marketing Officer
Tom Albu Production and Technical Manager